sewinginshambles

my crazy life

An Apology

I must apologize for my absence here. Life had momentarily taken over and I found myself with less time to focus on sewing.

Luckily, due to the new school semester, I will have more research and sewing to share with you, as well as more posts. I am working on applying for an URCO grant from my university. Basically, it’s an undergraduate research grant that takes place over the course of a year.

Currently, I have two projects I’m considering for the grant:

  • To work with the university library in putting together an exhibit on the countless amazing medieval manuscripts we have in the special collection that no one ever sees. It would involve dissecting the process of making manuscripts and translating the equivalent into modern society. Basically “illuminating” the inherent “magic of the book.”
  • The second option is to document the process of taking a 2 dimensional image like a painting and translating it into physical reality. This would be most apparent with clothing, as it is something I’m comfortable with, yet it will still yield an element of challenge to it. The big emphasis would be on the recreation of the garments in a way that reflects the painting’s original garment but using what information we know from extant examples. I would probably create the clothing on a 1/2 scale as it will be easier to work with and allows for more interpretations to be made.

I haven’t exactly made a decision yet, as I would really like to do the costume concept for my senior thesis next year, but I will have to see if there is any way I could do it for both.

Also, I’ve had several commissions come in, so the moment the customers have them in hand, I will be posting pictures. . .  And rumor has it I shall be appearing as the White Rabbit in a steampunked Alice in Wonderland tea party sometime soon, so keep your eyes out for that.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

