sewinginshambles

my crazy life

Micro Vests in the Making

Remember my micro shrugs?

Lab coat Micro Shrug

Well, for the Salt City Steamfest, I made a sleeveless rendition for the director of the con, who also happens to be a dear friend of mine.

Reversible micro vest. 1/4 yard of both vintage sari silk and gold taffeta

It was a very huge hit, and I got several people asking whether I do commissions, so I figured I better whip a couple of these up and place them up for sale on my Etsy page. (Which, to my embarrassment, has been pretty much abandoned for several months due to lack of items to sell.)

They’re pretty easy to make and take so little fabric. Plus they’re a joy to make!

Current fabrics for micro vest in the making

It’s also a great way for me to use up scraps from previous projects like the fabrics above. I always buy more than what I think I’ll need just in case I goof up!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Micro Vests in the Making

  1. I really like the lab coat shrug. I’m trying to piece together a pattern for something similar and was wondering how you did this one.

    • It’s actually a combination of several different patterns. The back piece was scaled up from an original 1863 pattern I own, and the front was draped on my dressform. The collar is essentially a rectangle and the sleeves are from a generic sleeve pattern I can’t remember where it was originally from.

Leave a Reply

