sewinginshambles

my crazy life

14th Century??

So I’m taking a Medieval History class at the university this semester, and I mentioned to my professor that I sew historical clothing and the like. My bad? I think… She immediately asked me if I had made anything from the medieval period, to which I mentioned that I was currently working on a 14th Century Cotehardie. Yeah. That’s where I went wrong. She asked me if I’d be willing to wear it in to class one day. Without even thinking, I agreed and only realized after I got home that I did not have an under dress or kirtle to wear underneath the cotehardie currently in progress.

 

So what do I do? Run to Wal-mart, grab a couple five dollar cotton sheets and head home to draft my own pattern. Yes, cotton is not period, but I don’t have the money at the time to buy linen and I can’t justify breaking my budget for a college class. The good news is that after almost 10 hours of working on it, the underdress is almost done! I just have to do eyelets and sew on the sleeves.

In the meantime, check out Sarah from Romantic History. She makes the most beautiful medieval gowns. I’m eternally jealous of her amazing skill.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

