sewinginshambles

my crazy life

Finished Project: Steampunk Skirt.

So, I finished the steampunk skirt. . . Like last week. . . I know, I know, bad me.  In my defense, I’m taking two very intensive art history courses this semester, which leaves me writing rather extensive papers every other day. Oh and I whipped up this extremely cute kilted skirt, but that’s for another post.

Finished skirt.

So finished, it took a little over 3 yards of black satin taffeta. It rustles beautifully. Hah! Funny how we categorize things based on how they sound when you move…. Anyway. It ties with a black satin ribbon in the back, and all of the seams on the inside are bias bound to avoid any fraying, since the taffeta is pro at it.

Bias bound seams. Don't know why my camera made it look grey....

In any case, now that this is finished, I’ll likely be working on a couple personal projects. I’d love to make a 14th C kirtle and/or cotehardie, but we’ll see.

P.S. After almost 4 months of “not winter”, we in my lonely corner of Utah just totally got snowed in today within an hour or two. Not sure if that’s a good or bad thing.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Finished Project: Steampunk Skirt.

  1. Pingback: Steampunk Micro Shrug « sewinginshambles

Leave a Reply

