sewinginshambles

my crazy life

Dream Dress

So I know this sounds crazy since I’ve already got several other dresses already lined up in the near future:

  • 1860’s day dress for my friend in green silk
  • An 1863 Zouave ensemble for my little sister – christmas present so it’s gotta get done soon
  • An 1860’s or 1880’s dress for me in either brown or raspberry silk yet to be determined
  • A Robe a la Anglaise for my friend – same friend as above to go with her American Duchess Georgiana Silk Shoes
  • Apparently I’m making 17th Century ensembles for my friends this year – preferably before Halloween although I don’t know where they would wear them
  • A 15th century dress in there somewhere as well

But!!!!! I really really really want to make this dress.

Salome with the Head of St John the Baptist (Lucas Cranach the Elder, ca.1530s)

 

Isn’t it gorgeous? I’m a little afraid of the slashed sleeves and all of the details on the sleeves, but it’s the skirt that I absolutely love. Did I ever mention I love pleated skirts? Well I do. And this one is fabulous.

One day in the future I’ll make this dress, but until then, I’ll have to settle for all of the Victorian styles I’m currently sewing.

 

Em.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Dream Dress

  1. If all your friends have 17th cent. costumes you need to host a themed Halloween party. To make it morbid you could say you were all gathered for the hanging of a queen.

    • That could very well work, we are of the morbid variety when it comes to history! (My friend and I have had a *fake* defenestration hit list for people who annoy us since the 10th grade where we learned about the Defenestration of Prague.)

Leave a Reply

