sewinginshambles

my crazy life

Welcome to my world

I’ve toyed with the idea of making a sewing blog for almost a year. The main reason why I haven’t until previously is because I figured there were so many other sewing/costuming blogs out there already. However, after following several wonderful blogs for quite a while, I realized that there were very few bloggers from Utah. That being said, there are probably quite a few, I just haven’t found any.

Here’s my thought process for starting a blog:

  • I haven’t found any bloggers from Utah. (Once again, if there are any costuming bloggers from Utah, I’d love to check out their blogs)
  • I’m going crazy not having anyone to share my projects with – my friends, bless their souls get bored when I start rambling on about fabric
  • It would be nice to get in touch with other costumers, since I haven’t met any in my tiny circle of the world so far.
  • I need some way to remember how I make my projects, and this will be much more organized than writing it down on a piece of paper and then promptly losing it.
  • And the peer pressure reason: everyone else has a blog, why shouldn’t I start one.

Hopefully I’ll be able to remember to take lots of pictures while working on each dress and now that I have a better workspace that might be possible.

I’ll admit right now, most of my dresses will have historical basis, but every once in a while, I do love to make the imaginary fantasy type dress

-Em.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Welcome to my world

  1. Hi, Emily!
    I also started a costuming blog a few weeks ago, though I live in Virginia and I don’t know any other Utah costumers. Good luck with your new endeavor!

    • Libby,
      I guess with the internet it doesn’t really matter where we are, historical costumers will always find each other! I’ll definitely be following your blog since I really have no idea what I’m doing.

      Em.

  2. I’m a new blogger too. Funny, I chose the same “look” for my blog as you did. I swear I didn’t copy you. Just a case of two people with the same great taste! Good luck to you on finding more like minded folks. I got lucky and found two people where I work (about 120 employees). But, I can’t seem to find more outside of work that are interested in rich lady clothes. I want to form a club of folks who do cheesy things like picnics in full garb. There are several groups who work more along the lines of ethnic groups but I’m very much a borring white anglosaxon who comes from upper middle class stock. I want to find a group for that!

    • Great minds think alike I guess. 🙂 I think like-minded folk will always find each other, in fact, they’re probably the people standing in your way at the fabric stores! I do hope you’ll find a group, maybe those ethnic groups need a boring Anglo-Saxon to finish the ensemble.
      Em.

  3. Some how a 17 century woman in the middle of a Viking encampment seems wrong. Maybe the Metis group…?

    • Aah, yeah that would be a little strange. Maybe if you joined said Viking encampment and then proceeded to inform others about the wonders of the 17th century, they could be converted?

Leave a Reply

